Drug possession laws in Nevada, particularly about marijuana, are confusing and sometimes excessive. Understanding your legal rights when it comes to marijuana possession is important to protect your record and your freedom. This article discusses various aspects of marijuana possession laws in Nevada.
Can I be charged with a felony for marijuana possession?
The answer is you can be charged with a felony for marijuana possession but that is unlikely. Marijuana possession is usually charged in the state of Nevada as a misdemeanor but in some instances, pot possession can be charged as a felony. In deciding whether to charge you with a felony or misdemeanor, the prosecutor will consider items found in your possession such as the amount of marijuana, cash on hand, scales, baggies, and other items. If you are found with these items, and/or significant amounts of marijuana, you may be charged with a felony for distribution, trafficking, or other crimes. In most cases, people charged with marijuana possession usually have an ounce or less of marijuana at the time of search.
What are the penalties if I am charged with illegal possession of marijuana?
A first offense misdemeanor of marijuana possession usually results in a fine no higher than a $600.00. However, it is important to recognize that jail time can be imposed if the fine is not paid.
A second offense can result in a $1,000 fine and a third offense can result in a gross misdemeanor with jail time up to almost a year and a $2,000 fine.
Why Should I Hire You To Represent Me For My Marijuana Possession Case?
At Rosenblum Law Offices, our attorneys are experienced and aggressive and have received specialized training in marijuana possession cases. Our team is led by a former prosecutor who has tried over 100 cases including those involving marijuana possession. We bring our specialized knowledge and our years of experience to your case to get you the best possible outcome for your marijuana possession case to ensure your rights are protected. If you or someone you know is facing a marijuana possession criminal charge, call our office today at (702) 433-2889 or fill out our on-line form for more information.